Newsletters and Email Courses: Shared Mailing Lists?

I’m new to mailing lists but am intrigued by the idea of a regular newsletter and also having email courses. Is it generally better to maintain a separate email list for each thing (newsletter and each individual email course) or is it better to find a way to have just one mailing list and segment it / use groups for specific purposes?

One of the downside to sharing the mailing list for many purposes would be that someone could end up unsubscribing to the whole lot when they might just want to unsubscribe to one aspect. Another would be that it would be more complicated (depending on the mailing service, I suppose) to ensure that people get the correct group addd to their mailing list entry.

One of the upsides to sharing the mailing list might be that people may only have to double opt-in once to get on your list, and then if they want to add themselves to additional groups it could just do that and not require them to double opt-in to the new group. However, maybe this isn’t considered best practice… I’m not sure.

The only other potential upsides are potential for more interaction between email courses (maybe not actually possible) and also maybe less organization / moving pieces if you only have one list to worry about.

I’m probably thinking about this too much. :slight_smile: My grand plan is to have one general purpose mailing list and at least 2-3 email courses (3-10 posts per course, maybe?) that may or may not be related to each other. If this works out for me, I could easily see the number of email courses going up by a lot. Before I spend the time to really dig in and build these first few out I want to make sure I’m not painting myself into a corner.

On the implementation side, I’m currently using MailChimp. I’d love specific guidance for MailChimp but I’d also like general guidance as I’m not completely stuck using MailChimp at this point.