Hi, I'm Alex and I am writing an eBook on brewing coffee as well as building a community around it

Hey all,

My wife and I decided to take a shot at writing an eBook on something that both of us are passionate about, Coffee. I am a front-end developer and designer and my wife has been a barista at a specialty coffee shop for the past 4 1/2 years. So we decided to put both of our skills together to create I Brew My Own Coffee.

We are trying to follow a lot of the same philosophies that I have seen with Nathan Barry, Sacha Grief and Justin Jacksons work. For the most part it is working well. Our newsletter is growing at about 7-10 subscribers a week and we are continually improving the site, making it more obvious what we are trying to accomplish.

After about a month of launching and marketing the site through twitter, blog posts, and a podcast we are over 30 subscribers and working on different ways to market the product to grow our audience.

It has been a lot of fun trying to grow a community outside of the tech industry. Through a couple of Peer User Test we have found a few of the tactics we are using are so foreign to individuals that are not involved in the tech community.

For example, we found through the first test that it was weird to the user that we were trying to promote our eBook online before it was available to purchase. Also they were still unsure what an eBook was on how they would be able to purchase and read one.

Besides that we are excited to keep growing our product and community and would love to hear anyones thoughts on what we have so far.

Thanks

1 Like

Hi Alex,

Arguably your book could be shortened to a sign that says “USE THE CHEMEX”. Maybe you could laminate it, glue on some magnets, and include a measuring tape to make sure the sign is properly at eye height for those slow-start mornings. I kid, I kid. It sounds like it could be a solid product.