When to Start Selling?

Hi there, I’m curious about you guy’s experiences on when to start actually producing a proper commercial product to sell? Did you hack on the side (be it for personal projects or for open source) for a long time before deciding that you have a mature enough skill set to build a polished product to sell? Or do you just plunge in and try to sell something and struggle/make mistakes because of a lack of experience?

I’m asking because I’m a web developer who is thinking of building desktop applications. This means that I have to start from zero when it comes to another aspect of software engineering. What’s a good gauge to have in terms of knowing when’s the tipping point to start making sellable apps? Or should I, with zero experience in desktop applications, just jump right in i.e. have the entire experience be a concurrent educational experience?

Well, the fact is you’re gonna make a lot of mistakes regardless. It’s better to just go out there and learn from your mistakes ASAP.

You can try to wait and gain experience before you launch, but there are so many “unknown unknowns” that you’ll never be fully prepared. It’s better to just go out there and battle it out in the real world.

And there’s no greater motivation to get your butt in gear than customers pushing you to get busy.

2 Likes

Just jump right in!

Do you learn to ride the bike by reading books?

A better question is: When do I start marketing? The answer is: Before you have a product.

So you start your marketing before, try to build up an interest, and once you get enough interest, then you build the product and sell it.

2 Likes

I’d say jump right in.

1 Like

One more vote for the “just jump right in!”

Do start researching your market and understanding your customer asap. Collect email addresses of prospective customers.