Validating a Wordpress plugin?

I’m just getting started and I think one time purchase products are the way to go for me. I’ve been looking into productised services (hi Brian!) but at the moment I’m a gun-for-hire developer and I don’t do anything repeatable with clients that can be turned into a service. Most of the stuff I do is backend services, although I try to avoid PHP, I feel Wordpress plugins are a good fit for the skills I have.

How do I go about validating something like this though, without spending a few weeks to a month building it? Most plugins are discovered on wordpress.org which is akin to the App Store in terms of discovery.

Heh- I clicked this thread bc it was about WP plugins (I’m working on one now too)… Hi there Lucas!

@philderksen @johnnytee @daverodenbaugh @bradt all run successful WP plugin businesses so they’d have better advice on this.

My take: Build a WP plugin that you actually need / plan to use yourself. Scratch your own itch. If nothing else, you’ll solve your own problem. But you’ll also gain the experience of building something, releasing it, marketing it.

That’s what I’m doing right now… Building 2 plugins that I need to use in my new productized service (Audience Ops). Once we work out the kinks through using it internally, I’ll plan on releasing them as free and pro versions.

Release a free version on wp.org and learn that process. If it’s not something people are actively searching for already, then you might try some targeted cold email outreach.

Hey Lucas, here’s a video of how I went about my first commercial plugin… https://deliciousbrains.com/boston/

Hey Brad, thanks for the video. So basically you did what Brain said - built something for yourself, released it as a free plugin, then validated with the users of the free version whether they would be interested in a pro version.