uTask – hire a freelance coder

I’ve been working in freelance software development for over 10 years… on both sides of the table. I’ve hired coders and I’ve been a coder, myself. In December 2016, I even wrote a book called The Software Engineer’s Guide to Freelance Consulting. Throughout the years, I noticed that the most reliable way to hire someone good was to hire them for a small task and then if they over-delivered in terms of communication and code quality, then hire them for increasingly larger projects.

I took this vision and concept and unrolled it into a website, uTask.

I’ve been driving traffic to the webpage and I’m finding that most of the people who post reasonable assignments are having tremendous success finding a coder. However, I’m having trouble clicking in with the user base of people who are nontechnical. My latest ‘epiphany’ is to split the user interface for posting a new task into two interfaces: one for people who are technical and one for people who are not. But, I don’t know how to design the interface for nontechnical people… e.g. how to guide them through the inputs.

For example, should I ask them to post ‘user stories’ for how someone would interact with their app? Should I ask them about their business…? Or if they’re an entrepreneur, about their product and market hypothesis?

Let me know if I’m explaining this problem clearly. I have a lot to learn about this market…

1 Like

Hello, what is URL of your website?

1 Like

https://codefor.cash

https://codefor.cash/utask

May I ask you, why you encrypt the address of the service you created and, obviously, would like people to know about?

Do you see any patterns in the types of challenges your non-technical users are having?

For now, maybe the non-technical user interface is a phone call with you. You can use the call as a “done for you” service which you can delegate or ditch after you figure out an automated approach.

1 Like