Protecting yourself against liability?

I live in Australia, and plan on releasing a product aimed at business users (such as self-employed tax agents, and also contractors) in the coming months. I’m concerned about liability against me (getting sued) if something goes “wrong” with my app (example: they delete something with it, that they needed for their work).

Will my EULA be enough to indemnify and protect me against such claims? The user is required to click “I understand and agree to the above EULA” before the app will run, with this button NOT having the focus by default, so they will have to actively click it and can’t claim they hit Space or Enter on it by mistake. Maybe I should make them type “I agree” instead?

Or is it best to get some sort of insurance? If so, what type? I don’t want to ruin my life if a lawsuit is brought against me. I’m a sole trader, not a registered company.

The short answer is: don’t worry about it.

The longer answer is: this is more about of your perception of risk than real risk.

You also have to distinguish “someone sues you” vs. “someone sues you successfully” vs. “someone sues you successfully and gets awarded big damages”.

I’ve been participating in forums like this (i.e. where owners of small software businesses hang out) and not once I’ve read a story of some small company selling $20/month software being sued by a customer, much less successfully.

The chance of being sued when you barely making a living wage from your company is slim because most actors are rational. Google and Microsoft have pending suits against them at all times because they have money. Lots of it. You don’t so there’s little point in me suing you if even if I win, I won’t get enough from you to cover the cost of suing you.

Note that nothing can protect you from being sued. I could file the most frivolous lawsuit and you still would have to hire a lawyer to respond to it.