Payroll Services

Does anyone have a payroll service they’d recommend? The two I am looking at right now are Zen Payroll and Waves.

I’m just a single developer, but still need to run payroll for tax purposes, so I’d like to keep the cost down.

Treehouse uses TriNet, although that looks a bit…heavier than Zen Payroll and Waves. I think I’ve seen TriNet mentioned on my Twitter feed by some other well known companies/founders, though.

I’ve used both Paychex and SurePayroll (owned by Paychex.)

Paychex is the biggest bunch of incompetent boobs I’ve ever experienced. They cycle young college-aged kids in and out of support positions so fast you spend almost all of your time explaining the same situations over and over, or, worse, like I did, threatening to sue them for double-applying for EINs or for sending paperwork 4 months late so the IRS is sending you (me) collection notices…

I just switched to SurePayroll. Their web interface is painfully out of date, and they still do a ton of everything over email/phone… it seems much less fresh and new than the ones you linked. But, so far I’ve been pretty satisfied… I got the recommendation from the LessAccounting guys, whose recommendation I definitely trust.

Of course the day before you posted this I went with Paychex. Options seemed very limited in MA.

Hopefully I won’t be in a lawsuit soon :slight_smile:

I just wanted to share my recommendation: Intuit Online Payroll. It’s relatively cheap and handles all the tax stuff.

I had the Bank of America payroll service, which was even cheaper, but they switched everybody over to Intuit and now charge an extra fee. It still integrates with the B of A online account, which is nice.

I am currently using Waves and honestly am about 1 more hiccup away from dropping them.