Nice to meet you all

Just a quick hello after joining. I’m Andy. I’ve been fostering a long a bootstrapped company for about 15 years.

When I quit my last job to invest my time into my own company, on my last day, I got in my Jeep and randomly Frank Sinatra’s My Way came on the radio as I pulled out of the parking garage. It was perfect segway to what was ahead.

Needing to lower my cost of living and to fulfil my wanderlust I ended up moving to Buenos Aires, Argentina. I then spend 4.5 years traveling around the world living in inexpensive countries and working on my company. This is pretty normal now, called Digital Nomads but in 2005 there were not many of us doing that yet.

As planned, my company needed time to grow, and that we did. Slowly but surely we keep plodding a long. Up until about 3 months ago we were a distributed company with workers located all around the globe. We continue to be location independent but we recently opened an office in the DFW area (Texas). I have mixed feelings about this because I left my job to get away from an office and now i’m going back to one! Seems kind of full circle and weird but I think it’s the right move.

Historically we were an ad supported B2C digital publisher with a focus on running online forums. In recent years we have focused more on recurring revenue SaaS products. My new focus is on CAC, LTV, attrition, and all things related to growing positive ROI business.

This looks like an interesting community, I hope to learn and contribute with you all.

1 Like

Welcome!

Things have certainly changed with regards to working while travelling long term. In 2005 wifi for travellers must have been almost non-existent.