My startup - Slicify. Crowd-sourced competitor to Amazon EC2

Hi All. .a quick post to introduce myself. I’ve been a developer/CTO for many years at small companies, and have launched a couple of startups in the past.

I’m currently working on a new project that launched our public beta 3 months ago: http://www.slicify.com.

Slicify is a market for cloud computing. I’ve written software that lets anyone with a Windows PC turn their machine into an on-demand Linux server, and sell it through my website. Our service competes directly with Amazon EC2, by essentially letting buyers crowd-source machines at the lowest rates, rather than having to get them all from one vendor. As a result, buyers will be able to save thousands of dollars a month.

Looking forward to chatting with everyone and getting some honest feedback. I’m particularly interested in trying different growth tactics to bring this exciting technology to a wider audience.

thanks
Steve

Interesting product. I think you should emphasize security much, much more.

You might want to see if academia would be interested in a version of your product they run themselves for research computing jobs.

Thanks for the comments. Yes - security is a big deal for this kind of system, and is the part that I’ve spent the most time and care on with the design.

However i think the challenge in getting across security as a concept is that it is very technical. I could add a lot of detail about how SSH, proxies, firewalls, etc are implemented, but this probably wouldn’t mean anything for the majority of users. They just want reassurance that it works and is secure, but that is more psychological than technical.

It’s definitely a tricky concept to get across to the users, especially if they are not that technically minded.