My desktop app's Year in Review

Hi all,

I’ve been developing a cross-platform file manager for the past 23 months and decided to write a Year in Review post: http://fman.io/blog/year-in-review-2017 Maybe some of you will find some of my learnings interesting!

Best,

Michael

5 Likes

A nice read, and it is interesting to see some numbers revealed.

fman is doing way less in sales than I’d have expected. Based on my experience and that of friends and acquaintances, I’m pretty sure you’d be able to get your sales way up by the end of 2018 with some savvy marketing. What are your marketing plans for the coming months?

Thanks Steve. My main goal is to fix the problem with retention. Because of that, I don’t plan on doing any marketing beyond what I normally do (blog posts/newsletters/forums). Doing marketing now would be like strapping a rocket engine to a horse carriage, I think.

Which begs the question: how do you plan to fix retention problem?

Here’s one idea: make the go to input box always visible at the top.

The “go to” is, at the moment, the big feature and while you promote it on the landing page, people don’t read and it’s not discoverable.

Eventually you could add an option to hide it, to recover the space, but it should be visible by default (and options can always wait).

2 Likes

Also, comments regarding https://fman.io/contact:

1. Don’t ask people to contact you via twitter. That’s not a place for a meaningful conversation. You don’t want to be interrupted in the mi

2. Put a fully linked e-mail and not this nonsense “[my first name] @ [my last name - double r, double n].io”

I get that you think you’re avoiding spam but leave that job to gmail. I’ve had my e-mail on my blog for years, spam is not a problem.

3. Make a better pitch for why do you want people to contact you. Be specific about what kind of feedback you want and encourage them to contact you.

I use:

I love getting feedback, bug reports etc. about my software. Send me an email…