Mentoring for Bootstrappers building Rails apps

Hello,

I’m a veteran developer who enjoys mentoring other developers, and I’m hoping you’ll be able to give me advice on how to evolve my training business so I get to work with more bootstrappers.

Currently I mentor Rails developers independently and for a bootcamp. The developers I train have a mix of goals and backgrounds, including career-switchers, bootstrappers, and first-time coders who are looking for employment.

We meet one-to-one regularly on Skype and Screenhero. On these calls we pair program, discuss any issues they’re having building their apps, and talk through development practices. I’m also available for help by email and I give constructive reviews of the code they write outside our calls.

What I’d like to incorporate more of into my week is coaching bootstrapper-coders who are building their own Rails applications already and getting things done but would benefit from having an experienced developer as a mentor to provide guidance as needed, but be financially within reach and not come with the burden of paying a senior developer’s full-time salary.

Right now I don’t know if there is much of an audience for this.

If this sounds like something you’d be interested in, I’d love for you to reply below or write to me at e@eliotsykes.com with details of what you’d like from an arrangement like this.

Thanks and best regards!

Eliot

What are you looking for in this arrangement?

I am a former Rails dev that is now bootstrapping a Rails app on the side.

However, I already have a friend that I pay to help me some Saturdays and am not looking to share equity at this point.

Hi @pjc, thanks for replying. I’d not be looking for a share of your equity, and most of the code I’d write for your business would usually be when we’re on a call pairing on something new to you or tough you’d like help with, a roadblock issue for example, or writing a test for something that’s tricky to test.