Mastermind Group

Does anyone else really feel the need for a mastermind group?

Basically, I’m a software engineer with a day job who has run some small businesses on the side, but never anything that amounted to much. My latest was semi-successful, but with a job change to a company with a competing solution, I had to shut down what I was doing. Now I’m looking for something else to work on.

I have a couple of product ideas, and have started on one of them. But, I often find myself needing to bounce ideas off of people and not having much of a way to do so. I’m thinking an email-based group, about 5 to 6 people, with no real commitment other than a desire to contribute and help each other.

Anyone interested in starting a small mastermind group? Any resources to get into one?

SFTROU had an episode dedicated to mastermind groups. I had the same thoughts as you, and started one recently. I did however limit it to people in my own network (personal and extended) to get started.

I haven’t listened to it yet, but here’s another podcast episode on masterminds: http://www.smartpassiveincome.com/millionaire-mastermind-groups-jaime-tardy/

Just a suggestion based on people I’ve talked to with experience in mastermind groups: if you start one, be a lot more explicit about what the commitment is than this. From what I’ve heard, requiring a very clear commitment (e.g. weekly group chats where you can’t miss more than one a month) has a major impact on the effectiveness of the group.

I think I would feel weird/awkward participating in a group like that where I couldn’t go out for drinks with people at least once in a while. In other words, people close-ish to where I live.

I get that proximity helps… being able to go out and have beers together while you talk things through is great. Unfortunately, I live in an area where that’s not really possible.