I've just launched - What to do now?

Hello!

My SaaS is alive. Well, not officially, because I’m waiting for an evaluation from Avangate, but the MVP it’s already “finished” and on the production server.

And I don’t know what to do, technically speaken. I’ve build the MVP using plain PHP and raw SQL because when I started coding it I haven’t enough experience with PHP frameworks, but now, a year later, I have good experience using Symfony 2 (it’s what I’m using at work). I think that my code isn’t perfect, I’ve had a couple of problems when deploying the project to production, and maybe a good idea is to rewrite the project using Symfony, Twig, Doctrine, etc to have an application with better security, cleaner code, a well-tested base, and so.

On the other side, if I rewrite the current project, I won’t be adding new features in the next weeks/months, and I think that I must add more reports, more options, the app must be multilingual (now it’s only in Spanish)…

So, what do you think? Should I start rewriting the just-launched application in a more secure/tested framework? Should I continue with the current codebase and, if the application really grow, then do a rewrite? Should I stop thinking about the code because all this is normal because, as Andy says, If you aren’t embarrassed by v1.0 you didn’t release it early enough"?

Thanks for your thoughs! :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Don’t worry about rewrite. By the time you will do the rewrite, you will learn so much more you will feel about your new codebase exactly the same way you feel about it now.

Also, don’t worry about multiple languages but keep that in mind when developing new features. The fact your app is in Spanish language is a plus in my book. English market is extremely saturated wherever you look.