Introducting OpsTuts - Server and Cloud Support Services

Hi there,

First of all let me introduce myself. I’m a long time lurker around here, self taught system administrator with about 10 years of experience, trainer, and until now a wantrepreneur. I tried to build a few startups in the past, but they all failed. I tried to learn something from each failure and I hope this time I’ll get it right :slight_smile:

Recently I bought a copy of the 7 Day Startup book and, while reading it, I realised that I should use my best skill to build the startup I dreamed about - system administration.

opstuts.com is completely bootstrapped and I followed Dan’s steps on building it. I’m the solo founder right now, but there’s a chance I’ll bring in a co-founder. I know that many parts of the copy are similar to exactly the same as on wpcurve.com. Copywriting is something I have to and I want to improve…

I haven’t really got any feedback, except from my friends, and this is why I’m posting here. Also, if you have any advice on how to attract the first customers it will be great :slight_smile:

Link - https://www.opstuts.com/

Good luck with your project. There are quite a few people following Dan’s model in different (and sometimes the same) niche.

Whos your target market - I am assuming its people like me who know just enough sysadmin to be dangerous (on linux) and therefore knows what they want to do, but also knows they really shouldn’t be doing it themselves?

A few thoughts :-

A large part of Dan’s success seems to be the content marketing. Can you replicate that - or maybe even better target something that might be directly applicable to your target market? If first assumption holds then maybe things like “Bash for beginners”, “Apache quickstart” things that I might need to reference when faffing around on a server then see your add and wonder why am I doing this myself.