Incorporation and e-residency program in Estonia

Hi Bootstrappers, I am working on a side project building a solution to help makers and indie hackers build SaaS products faster. I hope to launch in the next couple of months. As This is going to be my very first solo adventure. I want to do it in a very legal way. and for that I also want to protect myself by incorporating a limited liability company. As a Swiss resident I could do that here locally but the Minimum Required capital is 20k Euro, not to mention the high business operation costs.

One of the options that I have been reading about is the e-residency program in Estonia that would allow me to incorporate there.
I would like to use this post to ask if anyone here has some experience there or any particular opinion about it as well as any other alternatives that I might not be aware of.

Thank you so much

@zak245 Probably most important is how the Swiss tax system is going to treat you. Do they say: you run your company from Switzerland, so we treat it as a Swiss company? Ask around locally, preferably an accountant who has experience in this kind of offshore setups.

I considered doing something similar, but then determined that it doesn’t really bring any advantages (my business is based in Poland). I already have low taxes (19%), minimum capital requirements are low (but I didn’t even want to set up an LLC), and forming a company somewhere else is complicated: you will need to deal with two sets of laws instead of one.

Unless there is a very significant reason, I’d avoid it. Most people underestimate the cost of dealing with a second tax system, especially if that system is non-local (e.g. you can’t walk to your accountant’s office).

BTW, similarly for Stripe Atlas: I looked at it, but decided that there are too few advantages and many serious drawbacks (such as that you will be easy to sue in the US, so the first lawsuit can bankrupt your company). I wouldn’t do it, unless planning to get funding.