I'm Clay and I'm a soloprenuer: My 19 year old company makes Speech Therapy software

Hi,

Some of you already know me (MrAnalogy from the Business of Software board, which is now circling the drain) but I’ll introduce myself to the rest.

My wife made me do it.
My BS is in Electrical Engineering with a Telecom emphasis. I worked as a Telecom engineering consultant for my first few years out of school. Then went back to my first love, software development, for my next job working for a startup making Video Kiosks.

During all of that I was writing speech therapy software for my (now) wife to use with her patients. I just saw a need and needed a project to work on. Amazingly, we still sell the first program I ever wrote after college. It’s one of our worst sellers. But that’s a marketing problem :smile:

The software turned into a product which turned into many products which turned into a company. I didn’t have any grand plans for starting a company (didn’t have the confidence to think I could do that). One thing just lead to another and viola, we’ve been in business for about 19 years now.

Current Plans

We are about to launch a web app (mostly to address iPad and non-windows users, but also to provide a lower cost subscription pricing model).

My interests

1. Growing and helping other people grow
  2. Marketing and sales. Right now I’m especially interested in Landing Page Optimization (or “Conversion Optimization”). Having lots of fun with Google Experiments right now.
  3. Finding and managing freelancers (wihich is related to #1)

-Clay Nichols
http://MoreSpeech.com
Speech & Language Software

1 Like

Very interesting; looking at your product line I see a lot of similarity to foreign language learning software. Have you looked into making a version of some of your products for that market? Do you sell localized versions of your therapy software in foreign markets?