How do you handle issue tracking?

My cofounder (Andy Johnson) and I have been building Harpoon together for a few months, and since we are pretty close friends, we just text or talk in person about building features. We’ve recently reached out to a back-end developer on oDesk to help us accelerate some new features, and now realize that getting into issue tracking is going to be more important to staying organized, especially if we bring in another contractor down the road.

So my questions to throw out to the forum are:

• What do you use for issue tracking, new features, etc.?
  • While we’re at it, any other tools that you use that help you stay organized on product management?

I’d love to hear what has been working or not working for you.

I use FogBugz…been using it for years, on their free plan. I got into it back in the Cult of Joel Spolsky days, and it has always been sufficient.

There so many good products out there for this: Jira is excellent but in my opinion TOO configurable, in order to meet the demands of their enterprise clients. Back when I did consulting I’d introduce this subtly to clients and they’d usually be instantly won over from their current issue tracking software.

YouTrack from JetBrains takes a nice new fresh approach, very light-feeling, and keyboard-driven. I’d probably use this if starting fresh. It’s heavily dog-fooded by JetBrains, an outstanding development team.

GitHub + Trello is what I use to keep track of issues/code and prioritize work with my team.

I completely concur

Trello -> branch in git -> pull request -> code review and merge

Thanks for the responses. We are currently using Beanstalkapp.com for our git repository management, mainly because I like their FTP deploy option and we host a few projects on the same account. We are preferring a tool that already ties in with Beanstalk, so we can tag issue numbers to our commits and have them show up in the tracker. Right now the options that tie in with Beanstalk are: