HIPAA Compliance

I’m a doctor fairly fed-up with some of the software we have to use in my practice. To that end, I built a small SAAS solution to improve our workflows in quality improvement and billing. It may never have much appeal-- but it solves a problem for me. The biggest hurdle to launch is now HIPAA compliance. Ideally, I’ll get there without spending too much money-- the budget’s seriously limited. Unfortunately there’s not much available about what exactly is needed.

Does anyone have experience in this area, or a recommendation for good resources?

I may be mistaken, but I want to say I remember reading somewhere that @patio11 may have dealt with this. Pinging him just in case. Others on here may have had experience with this as well.

1 Like

From my experience, HIPAA will consume a lot of time and money. It’s not the ideal type of bootstrapped business because everything is 3-6 times more expensive. And you’ll also spend a lot of time writing all your policies, documenting your periodic risk assessments, training, etc.

You will also have to sign a Business Associate Agreement with all your clients, and your service providers (hosting companies, cloud providers, etc.) will have to provide you with a BAA as well.

I’m not saying it’s impossible, but you will be competing against funded companies that usually have a compliance department.

HHS is probably the best resource to learn about HIPAA: https://www.hhs.gov/hipaa/for-professionals/covered-entities/index.html

1 Like

I remembered vaguely that some hosting provider offered “HIPAA-compliant hosting”.

Just googled… errr … ddg it, and there are a number of them.

1 Like

I have experience in this area. If you have specific questions, feel free to DM me. There’s really too much to try and give a concise summary in this thread.

Not that you were implying it, but I want to make sure all readers are aware…