Hi, I'm Stuart from Roving Mitt Software

Hi everyone, I’m a .net developer living in Perth, Western Australia. I work as a consultant and am bootstrapping my new project. I am the founder of Roving Mitt Software - we aim to put great software in the palm of your hand!

Our first product Shibby is currently under development. It’s a mobile currency exchange app aimed at the frugal traveller who is looking to save on currency exchange fees, commissions and poor exchange rates. If you return from an overseas holiday with small amounts of foreign currency it’s often not worth trying to exchange it. Now you can search for someone close by who needs the currency you have, agree on amount, then meet up and make the switch! Use it on the go in the airport, coffee shop, backpackers hostel, before you travel or anywhere with an internet connection.

I’m looking forward to participating in the conversations here and learning from all of you!

Stuart

That’s interesting. Am I correct in guessing this will be people sourced (or whatever the cool term is) app, in that interested people meet up and do the exchange themselves?

If so, how do you plan to get the large number of people to make this practical?

Having enough of the right foreign-currency was always a struggle for me when I traveled the fair bit.

How will you handle the safety concerns that come from broadcasting the fact that a person has money? It must be a concern considering the untraceable (in this case) and liquid nature of cash. How do you keep a bad person from using the app for his “business model”?

2 Likes

That’s a good point. I think there is not much the app can do other than to recommend people only meet in public places. It’s a bit like a dating app/website, you wouldn’t have a first meetup at someone’s house. I think the app could also contain recommendations to increase a persons reputation.

Hello Stuart,

First of all, best of luck in your project! :slight_smile: