Hi, I'm Steve from First Person Coder

Hi, I’m a developer starting my own business in my spare time in the RTP, NC area.

I’m currently working on my first iOS app, a way to help people remember Chinese characters. I don’t expect much from it, but one has to start somewhere, right?

Hi Steve. Welcome to the forums! Let us know how it goes with your first app.

I really need a way to remember Chinese characters! Will there be an Android version? Let me know if you need anyone to test it (I’ve got an iPad if there’s no Android version.)

Thanks @andrey and @danielstudds!

Daniel, it’s encouraging that there is interest in Chinese learning apps even here; thanks for the offer to test. If you don’t have Pleco yet, I highly recommend it. My app is not nearly as comprehensive. I do hope it will offer some unique features which will make it valuable enough for some folks to purchase. If not, it has been a great learning experience.

As a longtime Java developer, the Android Market/Play would have been the natural fit. Unfortunately, Google doesn’t handle the international taxes on apps, so I hesitate to put paid apps into the store. That plus the support burden which comes with many device types seems too much to tackle at the beginning. If I work on a pure game idea, I hope to use Unity and make it available on multiple platforms, paid or ad-supported as appropriate.

Thanks @steve, I did come across Pleco and even paid for the pro version! It’s pretty good. I’d love something that used the ‘build a story based on the radicals’ type of learning; I’ve heard that’s really effective but don’t have the imagination for it myself! I don’t think that Pleco does that kinda thing.

Also, out of interest, who would enforce the collection of taxes internationally? I’m guessing the IRS wouldn’t give two hoots, so long as you’re following all relevant US tax laws. Would any other tax dep pursue you if you don’t have a physical tie to that country? What am I missing?