Hi, I'm Rob Sobers of Munchkin Report

Hey everyone! I’m Rob Sobers. I’m a designer/developer who is addicted to building things. I’m currently a marketing director for a 500+ person software company. Formerly, I was a designer/hacker at Fog Creek Software.

My product is called Munchkin Report and it’s an easy online activity tracker for parents and daycares.

Other stuff:

• I blog about my startup lessons learned
  • I wrote a book called Learn Ruby The Hard Way
  • I’m writing another book called Mastering HubSpot
  • I’m a member of the Micropreneur Academy

Let me know if there’s anything you think I can help you with!

Best,

Rob

Hey Rob,

I just took a quick look at MR. It has a nice vibe. Sorry I’m not in your target, my kids are in their 20s (years not months!).

I was wondering if/how you went about validating the market for MR?

Best,
Frank

Hey Frank!

At first, I was scratching my own itch without any market validation. If you read the Our Story section of the site, you can see that my wife and I track everything.

But I got wise pretty fast and started cold calling daycare centers and doing customer development interviews. My mother-in-law also runs a large daycare center, so she’s been a great resource to tap.

One thing I haven’t proven is whether or not I can reach my audience at scale online (and convert them), which is why I’m doing a lot of content marketing now.

There is also a decent amount of competition in this niche that appear to be making making money (my only evidence is their longevity), which bodes well.

-Rob

Rob, cool service! I wish it was around some 5-10 years ago when my kids were in kindergarten!

Now I only hope someone implement the same for schools. The disconnect between teachers and parents upsets me on a weekly basis.

Great idea Rob! It didn’t look like your app does this but my wife thinks it should email a report to the parent at the end of the day if it’s used by a daycare :smile:

1 Like

Thanks guys!