Hi, I'm Nico, I work on a Wordpress to static site service

Hello,

my name is Nico and I live in Cologne, Germany. In the past year I worked on different products, but as you all know launching is tough and finding customers is even tougher. I think I did all the mistakes, including lack of focus, building before validating, shiny new object syndrom, not talking with actual customers etc.

Finally I launched decoupled.de with a partner and we are currently validating the product.
The idea is, that you build your website with wordpress and then you push a static html version to your (or your clients) server.

In my past life I worked as a seo consultant, frontend developer and freelance webdesigner. I also worked in an venture backed company as a frontend developer, when I decided that I never want to do that. If you have any questions feel free to ask me.

Nico

Not sure I understand the offering. Who is the ideal customer for a Wordpress to static site service?

Interesting product. What’s the advantage of this compared to just creating client websites using a static site generator?

thanks @pjc @Oliver for looking at the site.

We had the problem, that we would build a lot of wordpress websites for clients that only needed some static sites. There was a lot of overhead to just build a 5 pages site.

Deployment of wordpress sites is a pain, you develop locally and then have to push it to your client server via ftp. On the client server, you need to manually replicate the settings for all the plugins. If you want to make updates to a theme, you have to login again, search for the changed files manually and overwrite them on the server.
Additionally we had to upgrade wordpress and the plugins, just to stay on the safe side.

Our Service is aimed towards agencies and freelancers that build small websites and still want to have all the advantages of the wordpress ecosystem.