Hi, I'm Leon, a new bootstrapper

Hi all,

my name is Leon and I’m a new bootstrapper. By trade I’m a programmer and have been working in the industry for almost 15 years. And now I’m ready to start something of my own - I hope.

So, together with my brother, I founded Suborbital Softworks Ltd. (which even doesn’t have a real website yet). Our plan is to develop and publish OS X software, which I hope isn’t a dead end, as desktop software seems to be perceived as “unsexy” nowadays.

So yeah, just wanted to say hi and keep lurking a little more until our first product is finished. :slight_smile:

“unsexy” is usually good when it comes to commercial software, as it means less competition.

I would hate to try to make a living selling “sexy” software, e.g. games and mobile phone apps.

1 Like

this is the longest debate ever in the mISV world .
personally i love desktop app’s . but it is very hard market ( very ) as i reading in the web .
Despite everything good luck !

I would hate to try to make a living selling “sexy” software, e.g. games and mobile phone apps.

Funny thing. I worked for a company that made those little skinner box style games. It’s just impossible for your typical mISV to keep up with the competition. The amount of money that went into marketing was incredible. If I had that kind of money at my disposal I’d just retire :wink:

personally i love desktop app’s

Me too. Personally I can’t stand web UIs for anything more complex than filling out some forms. I just hope there are enough people who still prefer desktop software.

but it is very hard market ( very ) as i reading in the web .

I think in the end it really comes down to the value the app offers. If an app solves a specific problem for specific people then these people will use that app, no matter whether it is desktop or web based.

Welcome! I sell both Windows and Mac desktop software, as well as “sexy” (but only skin-deep) iOS apps.