Hi, I'm Daniel, I don't know what I am

My day job is computer programming. My preferred (and current) work arrangement is contract. I get bored easily with traditional employment, so I switched to an arrangement where job hopping isn’t considered horrible.

Like many people here, I have more ideas than time. Historically, I have switched between ideas as quickly as I used to job hop. Right now I’m forcing myself to ride my current idea out. It costs me basically zero money, nobody expects a response time that would interfere with paying jobs, and it’s in a niche that I have genuine interest. Basically, I’m looking to actually give this idea enough time to have successes and failures to learn from. It’s about time.

The idea is a website for players of Magic: the Gathering.

Right now there are deck building websites (two major ones that the vast majority of the market has tried at least once, a small handful of minor ones that most have not heard of), there are meta-game websites (mostly one dominant one, at least three smaller ones, but this is a niche used by fewer of the community, so even the dominant one is sometimes not known). At the core, the site essentially combines both of those features into the same site. There is definitely some value to having both in one place, but it should also be noted that those that exist are pretty mediocre. Mine right now is sadly no better, but there is ample room to be significantly better than the competition.

There are vague plans on how to take the site into truly unique areas. Some of those ideas have code written (mostly hung up on UI issues). Some are little more than ideas. None are fully live at the moment, so right now there’s no truly unique features.