Hi, I'm Chris Kottom

Long time developer, first time bootstrapper, so I’m not really from anywhere just yet. No place that has a name in any case. Right now, I’m evaluating product ideas designed to help companies bidding on government contracts in the US market.

I’m a recent funded startup refugee and a freelancer / contractor before that. My background is in development (now Ruby, JS and Go; before that, Java) and infrastructure, but I’ve been involved in the business side enough over the years to be danger to myself and others.

I’ve had it on my mind to build something for a long time, but I think a lot of things have come together during the past year or so that have pointed me squarely in that direction. Mostly though, it’s been conversations with my wife about our goals and the great content produced by people in the industry that have shown the way. (Shout-outs to some of the most influential folks: Amy Hoy, Patrick McKenzie, Nathan Barry, Brennan Dunn, Eric Sink, Joel Spolsky, and so many others. Thanks so much for everything you do.)

Anyway, really glad to have found this forum, and looking forward to learning a lot and occasionally saying something useful either here, on Twitter, or on the blog that I’m currently trying to bring back from the dead.

Cheers!

P.S. - I’ve been living in Prague for 13 years, so MicroConf Europe next month was a no-brainer. If any of you will be there or have any questions where someone local could be of assistance, drop me a PM or just walk up and say, “Hi, wanna get a beer?”

Hey Chris, I’ll be in Prague for MicroConf as well! Definitely take you up on that beer!

Hi Chris,

I will be in Prague for MicroConf. Hopefully get chance to speak to you then.

I’m evaluating product ideas designed to help companies bidding on government contracts in the US market.