Hi, I am Amer, a programmer and bootstrapper

Hi,

I have been here for a while. I am work fulltime for a good company. But I dream about financial, time, and location independence.

In evenings and on weekends, I have been working on various side projects for over 10 years. These are side projects because I didn’t know the difference between project and product. I enjoy programming especially solving complex problems. But I would get bored once I figure out all the hard parts. Then project would die and a new one would born.

Anyways, after reading “Start Small, Stay Small”, I am changing my approach quite a bit. The biggest lesson from the book for me was that programming is not equal to profits. (Very hard to accept that). For example, I enjoy photography, I have spent a lot of money on photography equipment and books. I have even done some paid photography gigs. But photography is still just a hobby for me. I don’t think I will ever make a living from it.

The same concept applies to programming. It is my hobby. I am lucky to have a job where I can do programming everyday. But I don’t really have to turn it into my business also. There is a programmer I know, who has several gas stations. Another guy has a farm. And one is dog breeder. Their businesses are not glamourous but they are making some money from it.

Based on some advice in the book and some soul searching, my new plan is:

• I bought a pre-built dating site script. Not going to modify it a whole lot. Just going to spend about $100 a month marketing it using social media, Adwords and FB ads. If in a year or so, it has decent number of members, then I will introduce paid membership. (I know everyone says dating market is saturated but that is the only market I could think of for this experiment).
  • Treat programming as my hobby. Start using Github right way and share my code if I come up with something cool. Don’t try to build a business around it.