Hey! I'm Simon a Web Developer

Hello all,

My name is Simon Bennett, I am a 23 year old developer at a company in the UK full time and on the side trying to bootstrap two different projects.

1. Rent management software for the UK (enabling landlords to collect rent via direct debit)
  2. Software consultancy focusing on CQRS and Event sourcing to write better and more manageable software.

I have been pretty sad and listened to every single bootstrap podcast while driving and walking the dog so thanks @ian and @andrey for keeping me entertained.

I have run different businesses since high school my most successful was a Xbox 360 repair business which when I look back made a totally killing for a high school student. Since then I have freelanced, gone to uni and got myself a fulltime job.

Thanks

Simon

2 Likes

Hey Simon!

Great that you have entrepreneurial experience with your Xbox business. 1 would certainly be useful to me (I own one property in Poland so probably not your market). I made notes about things I’d like to automate. I can post them here if you like.

Out of curiosity, how did you come up with your second idea? I’m also working on my consulting business (I help to scale Heroku-hosted Rails apps). My initial idea was somewhat related to yours (I wanted to help to make Rails apps more reliable by improving test suites). However, market research showed that companies wouldn’t consider hiring external help for that. If they use Rails then it becomes their core competency and expect their team to be able to handle that. They did hire consultants for data science or PostgreSQL tuning. Were you able to confirm that idea 2 will work?

1 Like

Hey Greg

Well I mean have dreams of been everywhere in the world but start small and all that. If you could I would really appreciate that!