Hey, I'm Adam – trying to launch a server monitoring business

Hi all,

My name is Adam and I have been building small web apps to test out my ideas for a few years. I have been writing PHP for about 8 years, wrote a book on the CodeIgniter framework and I now work as a Technical Writer full time. I have been lurking here for quite a while but only now have something to post.

I have been trying to launch a server monitoring business for about 8 months now. Originally I would upgrade copies of WordPress until last month I had a brainwave, despite bigger competitors such as Server Density, I launched Server Captain in just 5 weeks.

I’d like to get your feedback on the whole idea & the execution. Would this be something you would pay for in general? Would you pay me to do it? If not, how could I convince you of my qualifications? I have been live for about a week now and have had 2 sign ups, one was "test@test.com" and another used mailinator. I’m not sure what I’m doing wrong and could really do with being put on the right track.

Cheers,
Adam

Adam,

Two things:

1. What channels are you using to spread the word about your service? Do you have a clear goal and plan for acquiring customers?
  2. It’s not clear to me from your site what pain you’re trying to cure. All I see is you are charging $70 per DO droplet (I think) whereas I can get a Droplet directly from DO starting a $5 per month. Can you adjust your site so it clarifies the value you’re offering?

Sincerely,
Anthony Eden

I have an email list of around 20 people who I have a (mostly) personal connection with that I have emailed. I’m using twitter pretty ineffectively as well.