Going wide or narrow market

I know this has been beaten to death… but given that marketing and sales is the biggest hurdle in SAAS type solutions… would it not make it easier if your software offering has a broad appeal…?

To give you a little context… I know the mobile work dispatch arena very well… I do this for a living now, mostly in utilities… I know the domain very well… Now, there is literally one million such SAAS offerings on the market now… some tailored to more HVAC/plumbing businesses… others appliance… etc…

Now, if I had an offering in that space… I could literally take my car and visit enough customers locally to make a living at it… Any company with a service person on the road is a potential customer… I just need a better mousetrap…

Now going narrow also has some advantages… however, customers are few and far between…

I am a developer so I am not concerned with complexity or breath of application… Marketing it is my main concern… that’s where it will cost serious money…

My goal is just to make a good independent living… not making it rich…

In my experience, no. The narrower you aim your marketing (within reason), both in terms of the problem you are trying to solve and who you are marketing it to, the easier it gets. You can always expand your focus later (if you become successful) or change your focus (if you aren’t successful). But trying to be all things to all people is a sure recipe for failure, especially if you are a 1-man-band. The trick of course it to pick the optimal features to market and the optimal people to market them to.

4 Likes

I hear you Andy… however I know this domain very well… hmmm… so maybe a vertical in this domain is best… I was talking to a friend who has a construction company… they have a lot of problems getting money for the extras their employes do while on existing jobs…

I guess I just have to resist the techy urge to get to a solution and find the problem later…