Going from Freelancer to Bootstrapper

Hi everybody,

I’ve been lurking for a few months, and I always wanted to be self-employed which I’ve been doing for over 2 years now. Things are going great, I have a few nice clients and projects, decently payed, etc. I couldn’t be more happier about the simple fact that I ride my own thing and it feels great to achieve victories by myself but lately I’ve been feeling more and more like I was wasting my time.

Instead of climbing some organization’s ladder and get life insurance and all kinds of long-term benefits I’m working on my own, gaining experience but nothing more really. The main goal when I left my job 2 years ago (I’m 26 btw) was to start my own thing, have my own team and live the dream but it ain’t simple like that as you must already know.

Now I’m stuck between a few options:

• Keep getting contracts via Internet, work by myself (what I already do).
  • Get more local contracts and make my own development firm (I have a few nice contacts and past colleagues, it shouldn’t be too hard). I’d offer website, application development, etc but that’s not really what I wanted but still cool IMO.
  • Bootstrap my own idea, develop it and try my best to monetize it.
  • Go back to a boring office job, defeated and stuck at the bottom of the ladder.

In a perfect world, I’d bootstrap my own thing. That’s my dream, that’s what I wake up every morning for but unfortunately there’s always something more important to work on so I end up letting my ideas rot on GitHub.

I’m a technical person but I believe in my “people” skills as I already made a few sell myself a few years ago and I feel great doing it. I just lack confidence right now as I’ve been stuck inside for 2 years hehe. I don’t know wether or not I should find somebody to start something with or do it alone. Maybe finding a mentor could help me focus on what I should really be focusing on?