Finally experiencing a little success

I’ve been working since early 2011 on trying to make my SaaS business, Snip Salon Software (scheduling software for hair salons), get off the ground.

Long story short, I’ve been working on the business for four years and I only have 10 customers and about $380/mo in revenue. I believe I got 4 customers “manually” via door-to-door sales, 3 by referrals, and 3 more online, in that chronological order.

My intention for the last couple years has been to build an online selling system that brings me customers more or less automatically. Until recently this has been exasperatingly unsuccessful.

A big breakthrough appeared for me last year when I read Perry Marshall’s 80/20 Sales and Marketing. Somewhere in that book, Perry says something like, “If your sales funnel isn’t working, break your funnel into pieces and make the first piece work, starting at the wide end of the funnel.”

This advice seems so obvious in hindsight but I never would have put those words together myself. So I decided to try to fix my sales funnel in that manner.

I tried SEO for a while to get traffic but it didn’t seem like I could come up with an opt-in on my website that people found compelling. Conversion rates were less than 1%. Like I said above, my website only brought me three customers.

Then recently I landed a really lucrative consulting gig, on top of a pretty good gig I’m already doing. So I can very easily justify putting some money toward PPC. Also, a few factors aligned serendipitously at this time:

• I was getting close to being about “done” with all the things I could do that cost time but not money (e.g. setting up lifecycle emails, building a setup wizard)
  • I was about to have some money
  • There came into existence a PPC service called Capterra which didn’t seem to exist when I started Snip