Hey All,

I’d be really curious to hear your feedback on an idea I had.

After reading Dan Norris’s Seven Day Startup (and the story of wpcurve) it made me wonder what kind of service that I could instantly provide that could act as the foundation for a bootstrapped startup.

It occurred to me that I could offer CTO as service.

I am a CTO. I’ve been building tech startups for 20 years - managing and sourcing teams, building software, defining architectures, scaling systems, building on mobile, web, automating infrastructures etc. I’ve also built (and sold) a soloprenure SaaS startup - plugg.io - from the ground up, including coding, design, marketing, conversion funnels etc. My total revenue from the pluggio project was $250k (ish)

Anyway, CTO’s are expensive ($100k-$300k per year) but their advise and knowledge can prove to be priceless. Having a seasoned full stack CTO helping make & review core technology decisions can act as insurance and in some cases be the difference between rags and riches :wink:

So what do I mean by CTO as a service? I mean you would have a full stack CTO available to you for the following:

• Answer any question that you may have
  • Help you and your team make the best technology business decisions
  • Review code and architecture if required
  • Choose the best technology for the problems you need to solve

Here are the types of questions that I have been asked in the past:

• What should the overall architecture be for our product?
  • Should we build our mobile app native or in html?
  • I hear that startups need to be built in ruby why is that?
  • Should we use rackspace or AWS or bare metal?
  • How can I offer 100% uptime?
  • I hear node is amazing! Should we build our checkout cart using node?
  • Were can I hire great developers?
  • How long will it take to build feature X?
  • Etc.

My thoughts on CTO as a Service Pricing & Availability:

Cost