Do you use call centers for a sales?

Hi there,

I’m a freelance web designer/web developer and I’m making websites and e-commerce solutions for small businesses. I’m not that of a phone sales guy, so I thought about hiring a call center to make call the initial round of prospects.

Does anyone use call centers for calling potential clients? Does anyone have experience with that and how well it works?

No.
But, I’ve investigated a services that calls a specific demongraphic, validates they are a good prospect then schedules a call back. It was crazy expensive (in the thousands for setup)

Have you ever gotten a cold-call for something you actually WANTED?

I think one of the most important aspects of Sales is QUALIFYING the LEADS. A cold calling call center can’t do that. And the services that DO vet the prospect are crazy expensive in my experience (and require setup fees, etc.)

How do your potential clients find a developer/designer?

How about if you offered a free “site review” ?
You spend 10 minutes and point out 2 or 3 obvious issues with their site. This has several benefits:

1. It’s a warm-up introduction.
  2. It’s “pull” marketing rather than “push” (you’re putting out an offer that THEY respond to)
  3. It’s appealing to exactly your demographic: site owners who think their site could be better.
    Think about how many awful sites there are out there that are awful b/c the owner thinks it’s good enough.
  4. You Establish credibility.
  5. You differentiate yourself from any old guy who can say “I’m a web developer”
  6. YOU get to VET them. You may find that they would be a lousy client (demanding, cheap, etc.)
  7. You establish trust before trying to sell them anything.
4 Likes

Thanks so much Clay. This kind of feedback is really awesome. I will go for this plan, because as you said: there are a lot of companies out there with shitty websites.

BTW, is your focus:

1. New sites
  2. Site REDO (where they have a site, but you’ll start all over)