Discount codes at checkout

Interesting thread about this on Hacker News. We have such a box on our Buy page as we do these little discount cards that we hand out at events and can track where we handed them out.

Very occasionally we do a sale offer discount but in general there are no discount codes out there in the wild as I hate the whole thing where you can always get something cheaper if you know where to look.

I do see people coming back in from vouchercodes sites though after going to google to see what they can find. I’d be interested as to any other experiences with this.

In general I think that article is completely flame bait - but I’ll share my opinion on some of the general underlying points.

My site Teenormous makes the majority of it’s money with affiliate marketing so I have some experience in the space. The discount / voucher / coupon code sites have always been a somewhat contentious topic within the affiliate marketing space, especially among merchants. As a result, I’ve always stayed clear of trying to target “[merchant] coupon” type of traffic.

I do believe that coupon affiliates for the most part swoop in and “steal the sale” that was already in progress. It probably happens a lot more in some industries (such as retail) then I would expect it to happen for smaller SaaS companies like many on these forums. The coupon affiliates I think would say they are providing the value of finding the deals - however pretty much all of the coupon sites claim to have codes, even if they don’t, and they will still set their cookie. I’ve even seen codes listed for Teenormous which is pretty funny since we don’t directly sell anything. As a result, many merchants that have affiliate programs are either rejecting coupon affiliates, or giving them a significantly reduced commission.