Changing direction: when to make the decision

I find myself in a difficult position with an app that I’ve been working on on-and-off for a few years. It sells 10-15 copies / $1000 a month. It’s very much a part time thing, as I’ve kept the day job throughout.

But I’ve never been able to increase sales above this level. Users are happy but not passionate (apart from the obligatory few who rave about it). Users typically rate the app around 7 out of 10 in terms of how important it is to them.

I’ve had a lot of really good sales and marketing advice and help over the past couple of years, but this hasn’t translated into sales. I no longer believe a strong market exists and I don’t have confidence that I have proper product / market fit.

I’m considering a big change in direction, moving away from the niche consumer market I’m currently chasing and towards a business / dev product that would occupy a similar space technically but a very different space in the market. A huge pivot basically.

But it’s a big step to walk away from that $1000 a month, even though the money is small when stacked up against my salary. Many would consider that $1000 and the continued sales to be a sort of success, but I don’t see it that way.

Has anyone here abandoned or pivoted on a product that was bringing in money like this? Did you find it a tough decision to make? And did you have any success with the new direction?

2 Likes