Built a product to solve a personal problem. Where do I go from here?

Problem

I was building a new home setup and getting new stuff (monitors, PC components, etc.) every day and I wanted to quickly share pictures of it with my coworkers on our Slack chat and with my friends on a Skype group conversation we have.

The existing solutions involved using multiple apps (camera -> dropbox and then going to the dropbox folder on the computer to get a link), which is not to bad but not ideal.

Solution

I’ve built an app - www.vimg.co - which only feature is to take a picture and immediately get a very short link to it, meaning that you can just type it out on your computer.

This was more of a excuse to try out Swift and the whole iOS development thing (I’m a web developer by trade), but if it’s worth a shot I’d love to try and make this work for a few more people.

How do I market such a general purpose application? How do I find out if there are other people “suffering” from the same problem?

Suggestion: add push notification like pushbullet does (via a Chrome extension) and it’s more likely to become a hit.

Suffering is tricky word. It’s not much of a pain to click 3 more and wait for a Google drive sync (yeah, I’m in the android world). I’d simply do some videos, upload to YouTube and post it to a few places for feedback. You mentioned Slack. Then target Slack users, for example: http://frontenddevelopers.org/

Good luck and great insight tha Swift is nice tool for web developers.

1 Like

I think you’ll have to target niche situations. For the general public, sending a pic by email, MMS, whatsapp, or even just posting it to twitter/facebook is going to be the easier solution.

So you’ll have to target folks like yourself. I can say I’ve run into that situation as well, usually in a group chat/conference call and I need to share a screenshot or something. So maybe that’s your niche. Collaborative environments mixed with mobile phones.

1 Like