Build or validate?

Hi there,

I have a business idea. After one week researching about alternatives and possible competitors, I think it has potential. It also fits the type of product/business I want to build.

The product I’m thinking about is a mix between Charlie and Rapportive, targeted to Shopify store owners.

Now I’m trying to decide what should be my next step. I’m considering two options:

1. Build the simplest possible (polished) version and launch it.
  2. Try to validate the idea with potential customers.

Build basically means:

• Partnering with a coder (I’m a product manager).
  • Spending some money.
  • Knowing for sure, once I’ve launched, if people wants it or not.

Validating the idea should be less risky, but I’m not sure how to do it without getting false positives or negatives.

My app requires accessing the emails and customer database of Shopify store owners, so it requires from customers a good amount of trust, which I’m not sure is compatible with offering the service in “concierge mode”.

What would you do?

1 Like

I wouldn’t spend a penny or write a line of code until you talk to 20 Shopify store owners directly, explain the service, and find out how many of them would pay for it.

7 Likes

Thanks for your feedback @coreysnipes.

How do you know they will actually pay, even if they say they will?

Or, how do you know the wouldn’t pay, if they can’t test the product by themselves in a real scenario?

Cold sales aren’t easy. If you can at least get a few replies saying people are interested that can improve your confidence in the product selling.

1 Like

A good time to share Amy Hoy’s link:

http://unicornfree.com/2014/validation-is-backwards

1 Like

Thanks for the link @shantnu. Do you have experience with this type of process?

How do you know they will actually pay, even if they say they will?

You don’t. But you’ll have a much better feel for the “real” answer at the end of the process. You’ll also have a couple of things…