Bootstrapped Interview: Robert Brandl, ToolTester Network

A few years ago I created an affiliate program to increase the sales of my desktop app. The program had little success.

I’m doing now what I should have done then - interviewing someone who makes their living from affiliate programs.

Meet Robert Brandl. Robert runs a collection of affiliate marketing sites, collectively known as the ToolTester Network.

Hi Robert! What’s the ToolTester Network?

From our office in Barcelona, we run review websites for various SaaS tools. Among other things, we test email marketing services, website builders, live chat tools and a few other web services. I started it in late 2009 while I was still working at my old job in an online marketing agency.

Tell us a brief history of the ToolTester Network. Why did you start it? How did it grow?

Basically I scratched my own itch. Since I am not a programmer, I found it very difficult to create a website. Back then software like Dreamweaver was state of the art. So I researched the web and found the first hosted website builders like Weebly, Webnode and Squarespace that even I was capable of using. As there was hardly any information on the web about them, I created a simple (free!) website with Webnode and collected all the information I could find. Total bootstrapper budget: $12 for a domain name!

WebsiteToolTester then grew through Google’s organic search. A lot of search demand was met with a very limited content offering. Luckily many of these searches ended up on my website. I guess I was in the right place at the right time.

I had already heard about affiliate marketing but never thought much of it. But reading that some bloggers make 4 or even 5 figures per month with it, I thought I could give it a try. Three weeks later I recorded my first sale, one of many more to follow.