Biz Op: Medical Supply Inventory Tracker

Hey Everyone,

Me again. Like in my first two posts here’s a business op that I thought the community might find interesting to discuss.

In the customers own words:

"I work in Health Care.

The biggest problem i have is searching for certain medical supplies. What departments have recently ordered said supplies, where i could find them.

I would 100% pay. Out of my own pocket even. As finding specific items, under urgent circumstances is definitely a pain point.

Typing the name of a specific item, medical supply, equipment into a computer. And a search coming back of what departments recently received or ordered such items. This would be instrumental in me searching, locating, acquiring a useful piece of equipment i would otherwise wouldn’t have been able to locate in time."

What do you think? Any ideas on how to execute?

Thanks,
Justin

2 Likes

Justin’s on a roll. :slight_smile:

Great posts, man!

1 Like

I always try to be cautious about suggesting something is a bad idea because you never know what might be unearthed with a little more digging. With that caveat in the bag however let’s rip!

My concerns here are

1. How would you get the data required? Possibly there is a way you can get this which can be automated but I suspect there are myriad ways they order things done via a variety of untrackable methods (fax, phone, etc). If it is available and automatable is that going to be consistent between customers or will you need some custom work for each customer?
  2. How would you get future customers and is that something you want to do? Probably my personal preference for not wanting to spend time cold calling medical professionals trying to sell them something like this. Or indeed maintain it if it was installed locally. But is that how this would scale ultimately? And do you want to do that, or grow a team of people doing that?