Biz Op: Hair Dresser How-To App

Hey Everyone,

I recently interviewed a lot of people asking them what pain point they had in their daily work. I ended up getting more business opportunities than I know what to do with! So, I thought I might share some of those excess ideas with the group.

Anyway, this is a problem that is facing someone in the hair dressing industry.

In the customers words:

"I work as a hair dresser and although many things have evolved through software I still wish we could have a way to not brush up on all of the very latest trends of hair styling so often.

I would love an easier way of learning the techniques sometimes. Maybe more trendy hair cutting tutorials available on software."

This seems like an interesting opportunity for someone out there. My feeling is that the user is looking for a no brainer app to open and view the latest (10?) haircut styles with how to videos.

If I was going to follow up the opportunity I guess I would do deeper research and show app mockups to potential customers and see if I could get 10 checks cut to build the software!

Anyway, it would be interesting to see if anyone else thinks this is worth pursuing. Would love to hear what your ideas are for next steps for this biz op are.

Thanks,
Justin

1 Like

Ask the customer this simple question:

“Have you tried to find a solution for this yourself? Like attending training sessions? Have you paid for a training session ever?”

I would not be surprised by the answer.

2 Likes

You took the words right out of my mouth!
If they have not searched for a solution, how big a problem can this really be.
OTOH, you could also sign up for a free google Adwords account and see how many searches there are for this.

I would add:

After you do that Play Customer. Search for solutions yourself (or if they have NOT searched, search WITH them).

I bet you’re going to find a bunch of (varying quality) Youtube videos on this.

-Clay

1 Like