Are developers unfit to start B2B startups?

I recently wrote a blog post contemplating whether or not my background as a developer was enough to start an enterprise software company: dillonforrest dot com slash startup slash are-developers-bad-entrepreneurs {linked by @ian} (beginners can’t post urls, please forgive my janky space-delimited url hehe)

For background, I spent the last 6 months working on a startup attempt which didn’t work out.

TLDR: My theory is that developers are too removed from business problems that enterprise customers are willing to spend money on. So I’d like to move closer to the revenue and develop an expertise there.

What do you guys think about that?

I’m at a very serious crossroads in my career, so I’m actively soliciting any and all advice :smile:

Also, this is my first time at discuss.bootstrapped.fm!

1 Like

I think it depends on the developer, many B2B startups have been founded by developers. Also, B2B does not necessarily mean enterprises (500+ people companies). I do B2B with many of the businesses being only 1 or 2 people.

1 Like

Hey Craig, thanks for the reply! Curious, in addition to engineering, did those B2B developer-turned founders have any other type of expertise?

(This is my first time contributing too :smile:)
I’d argue the counterpoint – that developers are the only people who are fit to start (single person) B2B startups.

Being a developer is a must-have skill, a necessary condition. But it’s not a sufficient condition. You also need to understand business: how to develop and retain a customer.

There’s lots of pitfalls associated with being a developer running a business (we get caught up on shiny new technologies, get fascinated by implementation details that customers don’t care about). But these are just occupational hazards: they’re not a reason to say that developers can’t start B2B businesses.