Anyone making good money with desktop software?

Hello!

Longtime reader of this board, but this is my first time posting.

I’m a software developer turned app entrepeneur. During the last five years, things have been going OK. I have managed to create several profitable iOS, Android and macOS apps with decent revenue. Some of them have died a natural death (integrated with other services that are in decline or no longer around) and others I have managed to sell (exit) for decent money (hundreds of thousands, not millions).

But I’m facing a problem that I haven’t really been able to overcome. Given these smaller projects don’t really move the needle too much anymore, I would like to build out something bigger and more sustainable (e.g. an app or piece of software that can sustain a small team). Most of my apps have been quite profitable, but they all seem to get stuck at the $100-150k revenue mark. There are small bootstrapped companies out there generating millions per year from desktop software, so I’m curious as to how they are approaching things differently.

To those that are consistently making, say, > $300k a year from an app or desktop solution, can you disclose how you’re doing it / how long you’ve been working on it / which platforms / how hard it was to achieve / etc? Any and all thoughts are much appreciated!

Charles

1 Like

Hmm, what I learned during the years in the Mac desktop software market: If you don’t have contacts (preferably by being an ex-Apple employee) don’t expect to make it “big”.

The companies generating millions of revenue are household names in the Mac market. Omni, Panic, etc. are almost as old as Apple itself. They have contacts to all relevant journalists and to Apple. If you can get the relevant news sites to write about your products and you have enough connections for a feature in Apple’s Mac App Store there’s certainly potential to get millions in revenue. If you can’t … well …