Advice on moving from a client focused agency to SaaS business model

Hello All,

I have been running a fairly successful web design agency for the past four years, a model which works well but often results in inconsistent cashflow. We have dreams of launching web applications and moving part of our income stream towards SaaS products.

Wondered if anyone has any advice on how to promote SaaS services and where is a good place to start?

We have unsuccessful launched a couple of applications in the past and therefore have learnt some big lessons the hard way but keen to hear your thoughts!

Where I’ve seen this happen best (as a freelancer contracting to agencies) is by selling a product that would help your existing clients. Whether that is productised consulting (run 5 AB tests a month and produce a report) or (duh) support contracts or a targeted web application you can sell as part of your design & build services.

That’s how Basecamp started after all. Blog to white papers to software to outside their niche.

You have a huge advantage here. I know at least 3 people that started as an agency than shifted into saas. Like Andy said above, try to solve a problem your clients have. You can give a call or meet with a few of them and ask them about their pains. For sure you’ll find some ideas + you already have a relationship with them.

Thanks both, appreciate the advice. We have an idea already lined up to help with the sign off process which we will start to use internally before making public.

when we’re ready I wondered what else we should be doing to expand the client base of a product beyond our circle of influence? Not afraid of hard work just wondered in which areas have people experienced success before? (SEO, B2B Cold Calls, PR in tech blogs ect…)

Chris - there’s a lot of great precedent for this exact move, not the least of which is perhaps the OGs themselves 37Signals - also Amy Hoy, Metalab, and many, many more.