What skills helped you find your biggest successes?

I’m in the middle of reading No Excuses: Power of Self-Discipline by Brian Tracy, and this appears:

"The Golden Rule

This law says that if you want to achieve success in any area, you must determine how success is achieved in that area and then practice those skills and activities repeatedly until you achieve the same results.

Here’s the rule: “If you do what other successful people do, over and over again, nothing can stop you from eventually enjoying the same rewards that they do. But if you don’t do what successful people do, nothing can help you.”

Was wondering what skills helped others find their biggest successes during this journey…

2 Likes

I’ve been running a successful “startup” for 20 years now. (Obviously it stopped being a startup about 15 years ago :slight_smile:
I am STILL discovering weaknesses. The current one is trying to do too much.

1 Like

What do you consider your most valuable strengths?

• Open to suggestions/ constructive criticism. (I find that many folks running small businesses are more interested in ego/independence than success).
  • Honest in my assessment of how I’m doing. (Kinda links into the one above, I guess).
  • Always improving. (I find that if someone is honest in their own self assessment and always trying to improve, you can’t help but get better.
  • Problem solving
  • Problem definition (I’ve gotten much better at this. See the 5 Whys method for more on this.
1 Like

Welp, this rule is made of cognitive biases and will break against countless exceptions.

Also many successful people went to elite schools and then networked their opportunities at top companies. I couldn’t repeat it even if I wanted to. :smiley:

1 Like

Yep, the trick is knowing what of the MANY factors led to their success. Maybe they inherited money from their daddy and just invested it in an index fund and are now rich.