What do you use to manage your business website?

Regarding this (Where do you host your business web site?) thread, what software do you use to manage your business website? Are you using a custom-made website with something like ASP.NET, PHP or Ruby on Rails? Do you use a “standard” CMS like Joomla!, Drupal or Wordpress? Do you use static html pages?

Personally I’m using Joomla! but, after a security hole that allowed someone to upload files to my server, I’m thinking about changing to another CMS. I like using CMS because it’s easy to manage and change content, and it’s also easy to find good looking templates (I’m really not a good designer).

I am currently using a custom ASP.NET website, but if I did it again I would use a Wordpress site.

ASP.NET + AngularJS because that’s what I know. I’ve been working with .NET since version 1; it wouldn’t make sense to spend time learning something new when I also have to do support, marketing, etc.

In 2008 when I started I went total static. Speed and reliability, I told myself, can’t be beaten. But having to manage HTML by hand was painful.

In 2013 I moved everything to WordPress, hosted on WPEngine. Which solved some problems but created others. If I wanted to alter our home page layout for marketing reasons, I needed the help of a WordPress person. Adding database-driven stuff meant extending WordPress. I felt hamstrung.

A few months ago (2015), I moved everything to be a Java web app, using Tomcat and MySQL. Finally I feel like I have good control and flexibility.

In hindsight I should have used this option from the beginning. Because Java web apps in Tomcat is something I did as an overpaid consultant for so many years, I can code this stuff in my sleep. That is, it is flexible, powerful, fast, and I know the technology well.

I think there are two options:

• WordPress
  • something you know REALLY well