Website hosting

I am considering creating a new and updated website for 2017 that makes it easier for me to update, do SEO etc. Currently my website is just a hand built one, HTML/CSS etc.

I considered WordPress, but found it very clunky and my site was infested with WordPress viruses within a week, so that put put off.

What about SquareSpace, has anyone used it? How flexible is it for a largish site?

What are other good options? If I can’t find one I might end up just building a new site from scratch again but it seems like a waste.

1 Like

Wordpress viruses? Darn… where did you host that?

Wordpress although is not my favorite can be a viable solution to host a website… I have several sites running with no viruses… lol You need a good host, some simple security principles applied and you are done…

Are you a programmer?

I am a programmer :slight_smile:

It was hosted on Azure, I didn’t do anything special, but it seems to be a pretty common problem
https://www.google.com.au/search?pws=0&q=wordpress+malware

I’ve really been enjoying using Jekyll with sites these days. Depending on what you’re creating, the static nature may be a non-starter, but the upsides are that security becomes a minimal concern and the resulting static files are blazingly fast. Middleman is a similar static site generator using Ruby that I’ve heard good things about as well.

I’m hosting a couple of small sites on S3 with https and Cloudfront (their CDN) for $1.50/mo total. They don’t get much traffic, and the configuration took a night or two of tweaking, but now it’s a breeze.

On top of that, SiteLeaf has been great for filling the gap between static and hosted CMS by providing a web interface for writing posts and managing the content.

3 Likes