Recurring billing with multiple payment providers?

I’ve been running a small SaaS product for a couple of years. It’s not making much, but it covers the hosting costs and service fees, and requires very little effort on my part - so I consider it as a success!

The pricing is a standard monthly fee with a four tiers. As I’m based in Europe I need to take into account VAT MOSS. When I started there weren’t many services that took that into account (especially as I charge the same price to all customers, and eat the VAT myself), so I used Stripe subscriptions and built my own system for calculating the VAT correctly.

I’ve had a couple of customers ask if I can add PayPal as an option for billing. I’ve just replied saying ‘credit card only’, but a lot of my traffic comes from Russia, India, and other countries where credit cards aren’t so popular, so I’m thinking it would be a good idea to add another payment option.

Yesterday I spent the afternoon looking into Chargebee, but I really don’t like their checkout. Although they say that they are designed to be used for recurring payments, the wording on their checkout pages doesn’t really feel right. This is the flow for subscribing to a plan with a 30 day free trial. It feels more like you are buying a product, and on the last page it suggests you will be charged now, instead of at the end of the trial:

For comparison, this is what the checkout I currently have looks like:

I’d really like to use an third party service to handle this, as I’d like more features like dunning without having to build them myself, and I’d like to focus on the product and forget about billing :smiley: I haven’t really looked at Recurley or Chargify as their monthly fees are too expensive for what I’m earning (my average customer MRR is around $10, and I have under 50 paying customers).