Online marketing 101? Halp!

Hey guys,

I’m a developer. I can develop products (SaaS’s, plugins, apps whatever) and I can setup good looking landing pages. Problem is: If my landing page converts well, I won’t know why. If my landing page does not convert well, I won’t know why.

I need tools. Tools to get information about my landing pages, tools to build e-mail lists, tools to test my assumptions and tools to… You get it. I also need to know how to use these tools.

I can put a Google Analytics tracking code on my sites. And I do. But honestly, I don’t really know what to do after that. And honestly, I don’t really like Google Analytics and would prefer something simpler.

Anyways. All this stuff is a bit intimidating and I bet that some of you guys have some awesome resources that you can recommend for getting started with this stuff!

Please halp! :sweat:

A few suggestions:

1. Some sort of screen recording /heat-map software like CrazyEgg.com (there are lots and many provide 1,000 or so recordings per month)
  2. Put the bare minimum on the Landing page and then hide more info which is revealed by a Learn More button and track that with Analytics. This gives you micro-analytics. BTW, you MIGHT fine something like Mixpanel.com or KissMetrics to give you more of a “funnel oriented” results. For example, I tested a new landing page and it was MUCH better. Then I looked closely and found that the CAUSE seemed to be that the new page promoted our intro video more. And when I looked I found that people who watched the video converted at 50% higher (to free trial) and engaged about 400% higher. I was able to do that b/c of the excellent analytics of Mixpanel (which is free up to a certain limit which we have not yet hit)
1 Like