LocaleData: My first SaaS, built for myself

I’ve deployed my first beta version of LocaleData.com - a simple translation management platform for Ruby on Rails apps. It allows developers to import their existing project translations in YAML file format, invite teammates and translators and work collaboratively on project translations.

I’m a full-time software engineer. In our company, we are developing another SaaS app and we are deploying an isolated instance for every customer. We have two pain points: (1) Default YAML files with translations are best for computers, good-enough for programmers, but terrible for translators. And (2) we need a centralized solution for multiple deployments (not a per-deployment-in-database-thing). Yes, there are some other solutions, but they have more features (which we don’t need) and they are too pricey to store and edit just a couple of kilobytes, in my opinion. So, I built LocaleData :slight_smile:.

Why donations instead of subscriptions: To make it legal in my country I would need (A) something like a trade licence (easier to setup, but the liability is not limited, I had to put up all my possessions as a guarantee - and I am afraid to do so) or (B) to create a company (this is a lot of bureaucracy and unnecessary expenses just to try it). So I decided to make the beta version free and… We will see.

I’ts my first public SaaS. I’m building it mainly for my own needs, but it would be awesome if it helped other developers, too. It has only the basic functionality, but I’m constantly developing new features.

3 Likes

I’ve worked with 2 companies previously where this would have been very helpful!

The biggest issue we always faced was the translators were not technical, so could too easily mess up the formatting or variables if given direct access to the yaml files. Looks like your app fixes that - good luck with it.