I'm Trevor. Mostly I lurk, but I've got this idea for a book

I’ve been a web developer in an IT department for a few years, a hobbyist and freelancer for a couple more. I’ve recently had an idea for an book aimed at people who

1. Aren’t technical (yet)
  2. Have an idea for a product, and
  3. Would rather learn the tech side of building a web-based product than hire the expertise.

I’ve got a couple Facebook acquaintances who say they’d be interested in such a thing, and a gut feeling that says there are more. So I wrote up an outline of the topics I thought something like that would cover:

1. HTML
  2. Cascading Style Sheets (CSS)
  3. JavaScript
  4. Install, configure Apache, start serving HTML over HTTP on local box
  5. HTTP basics
  6. Basics of Programming via Python
  7. Basic Python CGI app to demonstrate server-side logic
  8. Explain why databases are useful. SQL basics
  9. Add SQL to CGI app
  10. Explain how frameworks do bunches of stuff for you. List python frameworks, introduce Django
  11. Build Django app (probably multiple chapters, including setting up payments)
  12. Deploy Django app on Apache on local box
  13. (Assuming you’re on Windows). Explain “why Linux”, Set up virtualbox, install Linux
  14. Linux basics
  15. Deploy to remote Linux server: SSH, iptables, methods for automating deployments
  16. Hosting / DNS Resolution / IP addresses

Obviously such a broad book wouldn’t also be able to go very deep into every included topic, the idea being you could give people a firm handle on the basics and point them at more comprehensive topic-specific references online (MDN for example). Would this kind of guide be useful to anyone here?

PS - If anyone’s interested, I’ve started drafting it already. It’s obviously nowhere close to being finished, and the headings there mostly are stubs. I plan on keeping an HTML version online for free and offering an ebook for sale, likely with other higher-priced packages on down the road.

1 Like